Jared Bahay and Kieffer Alas Lead NBTC Top 24 High School Players

Jared Bahay and Kieffer Alas Lead NBTC Top 24 High School Players

The National Basketball Training Center’s (NBTC) Top 24 high school players for this year have been unveiled, with Jared Bahay and Kieffer Alas taking the spotlight.

Jared Bahay, hailing from Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, secures the top spot after leading his team to its third consecutive CESAFI juniors basketball title. He becomes the first guard to claim the top rank in consecutive years since Kai Sotto. Bahay’s remarkable performance marks the first time a non-UAAP and non-NCAA player has topped the NBTC 24 for two consecutive years.

Following closely behind at No. 2 is Kieffer Alas of De La Salle-Zobel, a member of the UAAP Season 86 juniors basketball Mythical Five. Alas, standing at 6-foot-2, showcased his versatility with impressive stats of 20.4 points, 10.8 rebounds, 5.3 assists, and 1.3 steals during Season 86.

Occupying the No. 3 spot is Amiel Acido from the University of Perpetual Help System DALTA. The 6-foot-3 Grade 12 student led Perpetual to secure the top seed in the NCAA Season 99 juniors basketball tournament elimination round, averaging 17.7 points, 10.0 rebounds, and 4.1 assists.

The diversity of the Top 24 players reflects the thriving grassroots basketball scene across the Philippines. Players from various regions such as North Luzon, South Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao make up the list, showcasing the depth of talent in the country.


According to NBTC program director Eric Altamirano, this diverse representation underscores the vitality of grassroots basketball in the Philippines. Altamirano hopes that as NBTC continues to expand and strengthen, more promising prospects from all corners of the country will emerge.


NBTC Top 24 high school players
1.Jared Bahay (CESAFI/SHS-Ateneo) 13. EJ Castillo (NCAA/EAC)
2. Kieffer Alas (UAAP/DLSZ) 14. John Alejandro (UAAP/UE)
3. Amiel Acido (NCAA/Perpetual) 15. Lawrence Mangubat (NCAA/Mapua)
4. Doys Dungo (UAAP/UST) 16. Macmac Alfanta (UAAP/NUNS)
5. Tebol Garcia (UAAP/Adamson) 17. Mark Gojo Cruz (NCAA/Perpetual
6. Titing Manalili (NCAA/Letran) 18. Ruvic Danag (NCAA/San Sebastian)
7. Vince Reyes (UAAP/Adamson) 19. Daryl Valdeavilla (UAAP/UPIS)
8. Ports Porter (UAAP/Ateneo) 20. Wacky Ludovice (UAAP/UST)
9. George Diamante (NCAA/Letran) 21. Andre Lumanag (NBTC Mindanao Regionals/Toyomoto Auto Supply-Davao)
10. Veejay Pre (UAAP/FEU-D) 22. Jevy Hinoguin (NBTC North Luzon Regionals/Yengskivel Sportswear-CAMANAVA)
11. Jhames Daep (NCAA/Perpetual) 23. Renz Apor (NBTC South Luzon Regionals/Batang Tiaong-Quezon)
12. Jelomar Rota (CESAFI/SHS-Ateneo) 24. Peter John Peteros (NBTC Visayas Regionals/Khalifa-Cebu)