Inaugural All-Women Sports Awards Set to Honor Female Achievements

Inaugural All-Women Sports Awards Set to Honor Female Achievements

Mark your calendars for March 20, as the inaugural All-Women Sports Awards is poised to take center stage at the historic Rizal Memorial Coliseum. Conceived as a passion project by Philippine Sports Commissioner Bong Coo, this groundbreaking event aims to celebrate and recognize the remarkable achievements of women athletes, coaches, executives, and other sports-related personnel.

“As a former athlete myself, I’ve seen the need for such awards dedicated exclusively to women. It’s always been about sports awards in general, so I thought it’s about time,” shared Coo, the legendary Filipina bowler and Hall of Famer, during the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Forum.

Accompanying Coo in the forum were esteemed members of the selection panel: taekwondo legend Stephen Fernandez of the Philippine Olympians Association, two-time SEA Games gold medalist Nikko Huelgas of the POC Athletes Commission, and Judith Staples of the Masters Athletics and private sector.

With 300 nominees submitted by their respective National Sports Associations (NSAs), the selection committee meticulously reviewed achievements from the sports year 2023, while also considering past accomplishments. “We prioritized the performances of our athletes in 2023, but we do not negate their performances in the past years,” explained Staples.

From these nominations, the committee has already identified 136 awardees, including recipients of the Athlete of the Year, Flame Awards, Lifetime Achievement Awards, covering elite athletes, para athletes, and Masters, as well as major awards and citations.

“It was challenging due to the tough competitions and the abundance of top-level Filipina athletes. However, with the assistance of the NSAs and numerous recommendations, we were able to streamline and decide which ones fit best,” remarked Huelgas.

In a departure from traditional plaques and trophies, all awardees will receive specially crafted rings. Additionally, Senator Pia Cayetano generously donated P100,000 to the recipient of the Athlete of the Year.

Looking ahead, Fernandez noted that the committee will convene again to finalize the list of awardees, which will be disclosed at a later date. Commissioner Coo expressed her hope to make the event, presented by the PSC and the Philippine Commission on Women, an annual affair, cementing its significance in honoring the accomplishments and contributions of women in sports.