FEU-Diliman Clinches 12th Consecutive UAAP Boys' Football Title

FEU-Diliman Clinches 12th Consecutive UAAP Boys’ Football Title

Far Eastern University-Diliman reaffirmed its dominance in UAAP boys’ football by clinching its 12th consecutive championship title. The Baby Tamaraws showcased their prowess in the Season 86 Finals, securing a convincing 3-0 victory over the University of Santo Tomas on Thursday night at the UP Football Stadium.

Despite UST’s strong debut in the Finals, FEU-Diliman’s championship experience shone through as they delivered a commanding performance to seal another title. Kian Niu opened the scoring in the 18th minute, setting the tone for FEU-Diliman’s dominance. Theo Libarnes extended the lead eight minutes into the second half with his seventh goal of the season, earning him the Golden Boot award along with the Best Striker accolade. Substitute Jacob Keleghan sealed the victory with FEU-Diliman’s third goal in the 78th minute.

While UST may have fallen short in the Finals, the team achieved its best-ever finish in boys’ football, showcasing promising talent for the future. Edsel James Lauron and Kent Laurenz dela Peña of UST received individual awards for their outstanding performances, with Lauron earning the Best Goalkeeper title and dela Peña recognized as the Best Midfielder. Bacchus Ekberg of De La Salle-Zobel, a key player in their third-place finish, was awarded the Best Defender distinction.

Amidst the competition, Ateneo stood out for their sportsmanship, securing the Fair Play Award.

FEU-Diliman’s head coach, Marjo Allado, acknowledged UST’s potential for the future, recognizing their strong performance in reaching the Finals. The victory not only solidifies FEU-Diliman’s position as the standard-bearer in UAAP boys’ football but also underscores the team’s relentless pursuit of excellence and commitment to success.